- 20 December 2021
What is BAC in New Jersey and How does it Relate to Me?
Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) refers to the level of alcohol in your blood. You can get convicted for DUI even if you have a BAC below 0.08 percent. Drunk driving is a serious traffic offense for which you can get prosecuted if you have consumed alcohol and your driving gets impaired. When it comes to New Jersey’s strict drunk driving laws, you should first understand Blood Alcohol Concentration before you can get behind the wheel legally. Should you get pulled over, always contact your New Jersey DUI attorney.
New Jersey’s Limits on Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
An impaired driver will be stopped. The arresting officer typically conducts field sobriety tests during a traffic stop before administering a breath test at a police station. DWI charges can still be brought against you even if you have very little alcohol in your system, so it is crucial to remain aware of New Jersey’s BAC restrictions.
DUI For Drivers Aged 21 and Above
In New Jersey, if you are 21 or older and have a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher while driving, you can be charged with drunk driving.
As a person’s blood alcohol concentration rises, the penalties against them become graver, and the consequences are stiffer. If you get charged with a first-time DWI, you could face up to a 30 days in jail, a $750 to $1000 fine, and a license suspension lasting anywhere from 3 months to 12 months.
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) for Minors
Any driver under the age of 21 can be charged with underage DWI for operating a vehicle with a BAC of at least .01% but less than .08%. Anyone, including underage drivers, can be convicted of DWI in New Jersey for operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of .08% or more or while actually under the influence of alcohol, a narcotic, a hallucinogenic, or habit-producing drug.
Any driver under the age of 21 charged with a DWI will have his or her driver’s license suspended for 30 to 90 days. In addition, the court will order the offender to complete 15 to 30 days of community service.
Drunk-Driving Commercial Drivers (CDL)
The BAC limit for commercial drivers is different in some cases. At the time of their traffic stop, CDL drivers with a BAC of 0.04 percent or higher will face charges of Driving Under the Influence (DUI). DUI attorneys NJ can help with these situations.
In What Ways an NJ DUI Attorney Can Assist You
If you’re facing a DWI charge in New Jersey, it’s critical to consult with an experienced DWI lawyer to determine which rules apply to your situation. When it comes to a New Jersey DWI defense case, our Ashton E. Thomas Esquire is here to help. We will investigate your case from every angle from the moment you got pulled over to your court hearing to help prevent a suspended license or you from getting any jail time. It’s important to share every detail with your Elizabeth NJ attorneys to get the best representation possible.