Getting Familiar With New Jersey’s Traffic Laws

Getting Familiar With New Jersey's Traffic Laws

Getting behind the wheel in New Jersey is a great adventure. However, there are some things you should be aware of if you decide to drive through the Garden State. Here is an overview of some basic traffic rules and regulations in New Jersey. 

Speed Limits

New Jersey is known as a state with intense and bumper-to-bumper traffic. Therefore, it is important to be aware of speed limits in the Garden State. Compared to other states, New Jersey has lower speed limits on highways and interstates. Residential and business streets have a speed limit of 25 miles per hour. The speed limit in school zones is lower, so you should always look for regulatory signs to make sure you are not speeding. 

Here is a list of other speed limits:

  • Within city limits – 20-35 mph
  • Undivided rural road – 30-55 mph
  • Divided rural road – 55 mph 
  • Freeway within city limits – 50-65 mph
  • Freeway outside city limits – 65 mph

Drivers Licenses and Permits

  • New residents of the state of New Jersey have to obtain a New Jersey drivers license with the first 60 days of being a resident.
  • If you are applying for a drivers license and you are under age 21, you have to complete the GDL program first before applying for a regular drivers license. First, you complete a six-hour supervised driving with a certified teacher at a driving school. Then you can apply for a probationary drivers license and must practice driving for at least six months. Once you turn 17, you can take the road skills test and apply for a regular drivers license. 

The Point System in New Jersey

In New Jersey, the point system assigns a point value to most traffic offenses, and the number of points assigned depends on how serious the traffic offense was. For example, if you were speeding at 10 mph over the speed limit, you will receive two points, while speeding at 35 mph over the speed limit will add five points on the drivers license. A five-point infraction is considered reckless driving, while a two-point infraction is careless driving. Once you acquire 12 points, your drivers license can be suspended. 

Tickets and Fines

The fines for traffic violations in the Garden State depend on the type of violation. Some violations can cost $50, while severe offenses are a few thousands of dollars. Here is a list of the most common and most serious violations, along with their fines:

  • Racing on highway – from $25 to  $200
  • Unsafe lane change – from $50 to $200
  • Improper passing  – from $50 to $200
  • Tailgating – from $50 to $200
  • Failure to observe a traffic signal – from $50 to $200
  • Careless driving – from $50 to $200
  • Reckless driving  – from $50 to $500
  • Speeding – from $85 to $260
  • Improper passing of a school bus – from  $100 to $250
  • Driving while suspended  – $500
  • Leaving the scene of an accident – up to $15,000
  • Driving under the influence – up to $1,000

It is also important to know that New Jersey is one of those states that never removes offenses from driving records. Also, sometimes, it may be not enough to just pay the ticket online or via mail. Sometimes, you must appear in court on the specific date. In such situations, it is recommended to hire a NJ traffic attorney. A NJ traffic lawyer will accompany you to court on the day of your trial and will advocate for you. 

Ashton E. Thomas Esquire – A skilled New Jersey traffic lawyer If you are stopped and issued a ticket, call  traffic attorney NJ Ashton Thomas who has years of experience fighting traffic tickets and getting the best results for his clients. Do not just simply pay a traffic ticket – do not be a victim. Protect your driving record by contacting  New Jersey traffic attorney Ashton Thomas who knows how to protect your interest. As a professional traffic lawyer NJ he may be able to reduce the penalties related to a ticket or get your charges dismissed.